Clutch line fittings, proportioning valve

Last weekend, I tried working on the car but realized that I needed to order some parts first. I was going to mount the clutch master cylinder permanently, but thought it would be better to get the conversion fittings installed in it first.

I’d been waiting to place an order with Summit or Jeg’s until I had a list of items to order. My list didn’t end up being very long- just the fittings and an adjustable proportioning valve for the brakes. I started shopping around for pricing and found to my delight that the local parts store (Novak’s) could get better pricing on what I needed and I wouldn’t have to pay for shipping.

From 1967 Barracuda

The clutch line fittings are Russell #640281. They convert the weird heat-shrunk line to a standard 3AN threaded fitting. There’s not much documentation on them, but I found out about them on a web forum for late model Camaro’s. They’re listed for Jeep/Chrysler but that’s about all they say. (For anyone that’s just joining, I’m using the slave and master cylinders from a 1994 Dakota. I believe that Jeeps and full size trucks of this same era use the same type of cylinders. My ’99 Ram uses them) The brake valve is a Stainless Steel Brakes model that should work just fine.

With great joy, I decided to install these fittings on the slave and master cylinders. Everything was fine until I realized that they didn’t fit.

From 1967 Barracuda

This is a picture of the original fitting removed. You have to drive that pin out and the fitting comes out pretty easy. There is also a rubber gasket I had to fish out with some pliers.

After seeing that the new fitting didn’t work, I took some measurements. The new fittings have a step on the front edge of the fitting to retain the rubber gasket. The old fitting didn’t have this, so I realized that this larger diameter was keeping the fitting from seating all the way in. Very deftly, I filed this down to match the rest of the diameter.

Arrow points to area that was filed down

From 1967 Barracuda

Once this was done, the fittings fit properly. Victory!

From 1967 Barracuda

Now I can get an off-the-shelf flexible AN line to connect both cylinders. I’ll probably have to use some tight 90 degree elbows to fit into the space; we’ll see.

Last thing accomplished this weekend was installing the adjustable brake valve. I was hoping to get with a friend who has a fancy brake line flaring tool, but he wasn’t available. Flaring brake lines is pretty much the bane of my existence.

From 1967 Barracuda

See, I have a flaring set, but it’s very temperamental and I don’t trust it. I once spent an entire summer flaring and re-flaring lines on my Dart. My hands started to smell permanently like brake fluid- a sort of cologne, if you will. Since I couldn’t get a hold of my friend, I decided to give it a shot. I produced a couple good flares here, but I won’t know if they leak until we start bleeding the brakes. For now, there’s no leaks. (Trying to be positive)

Next task is to clean up the hole in the firewall so that the gasket for the clutch master cylinder will fit. While I’m waiting on a donor vehicle to show up, I can also fix the door strikers that are busted out. I could also start on the sub-frame connectors, but I’d like to have the weight of the engine in place just in case that makes a difference.

Mechanical Engineer, Mopar guy, reluctant defender of the universe.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Barracuda
One comment on “Clutch line fittings, proportioning valve
  1. […] I decided to bleed the brakes. This has been frustrating too. If you recall, I installed the proportioning valve and the master cylinder quite a while ago. I had to flare a couple lines, which I’ve never been able to do […]

Leave a comment