Brake Line Setup for Ford 8.8

Last time, I mentioned that the Ford Explorer flex line was too short to work on my Barracuda. I’ve got that problem solved now and would like to show what I did.

From 1967 Barracuda

I purchased a passenger side Explorer flex hose that didn’t have the “Y” in it and mounted it on the driver’s side. I had to flip the bracket that it bolts to to work. I then purchased a rear flex hose for a ’74 A-body. I welded a bolt to the axle for a mounting place.

From 1967 Barracuda

Here it is all mounted up.

From 1967 Barracuda

It’s close to the shock, but after bending the brake line a little, it clears. It actually gets better as the suspension compresses.

From 1967 Barracuda

Flaring brake lines is the bane of my existence, so I used some pre-made lines to connect everything up. (that’s why there’s a curly Q in the middle of it- to take up the extra line) This is the passenger side line.

From 1967 Barracuda

I was feeling pretty good until I tried to mount the passenger side shock. One step forward…two steps back.

I’m going to have to cut that bracket off and move it so it clears. Well, the axle was almost done.

Until next time.

Mechanical Engineer, Mopar guy, reluctant defender of the universe.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Barracuda

Leave a comment